Packager HUD

So… packager hud.

I figured I’d do a post here to explain a bit about what it is and why it can help you forget about packaging and focus on what you really want to do, create new products. 

In a nutshell, the packager hud automates the process of boxing up your products in vendors, handling the placing of the sign texture, the placing of all products/landmarks/notecards in the appropriate boxes and renaming it all to work for each product. The ultimate goal is that after you get through the initial setup, you can simply drop all of your styles into the hud, click setup, click pack, and be done with that vendor and ready to place it in your store.

All of this in the form of a HUD that you can minimize to keep out of the way but still around when you need it.

The Packager HUD, srsly takes away the headache of packaging and helps you focus on creating products in Second Life.

The Packager HUD, srsly takes away the headache of packaging and helps you focus on creating products in Second Life.

You can get your own copy at my store on ETD: http://slurl.com/secondlife/ETD/198/68/24

Update: I’ve released a few different versions of the packager hud now to bring down the price point for those with less stuff to package (and included a demo!). These versions vary based on how many different “packs” it’ll handle at once (be that styles, colors, prices, whatever), and yes, I did use the packager hud to package the packager hud 😛

So… you can now get a packager for:

up to 10 boxes for L$5,000

up to 20 boxes for L$7,500

all you can pack for L$10,000

Keep sending me your feedback, I want to make this as useful and accessible to people as possible!

7 Responses to “Packager HUD”

  1. Elika Says:

    Srsly, this is the best invention for a hair maker since the Toaster (automated texturer thinger).

    Thank you for making this! You’ve made my SLife a lot easier and I’m sure you’ll make a ton more people’s lives easier. ❤

  2. aems Says:

    I can only reiterate what Elika has said. Absolutely brilliant tool for any hair maker and skin maker.

    thank you so much

  3. haver cole Says:

    yay times 500…thank you! and keep making brilliant stuff please

  4. Riq Says:

    Was super excited to see this product, as it seems like something that would be helpful and really nice to have around so that i don’t have to deal with this part of the process.

    But then was super bummed to see it at 10,000L$.

    For something that isn’t going to make a noticeable difference in my end products, but is just a time saver, it’s a bit pricey for my tastes. Things like the sculpt studio (retailing at 5K) allow me to create better products, and i really couldn’t create without it. It’s something that i would consider dropping 10K on, because it makes the money back for itself.

    A demo of some sort would be great, too, so that i’m not dropping 42 dollars on a product that i’m unsure if it’ll be really the time saver that i’ve been searching for, or not.

    From reading the notecard, and the comments posted here, it sounds like a great and revolutionary new product that you’ve made. Unfortunately at that price, it’s not going to be changing anything in SL as far as the workflow goes. It will be something for only the fat cats and people who pull in the kind of money to be able to spend that much on a time saving tool.

    Once again, the idea is fantastic, and the execution seems to match it, but it’s just a bit steep for my wallet.

    Signed,
    A guy who would love to afford this.

  5. srslysl Says:

    Thanks for the feedback on the packager hud. I’ll see what I can do about making a demo.

    How many different “packs” do you have in your vendor? I’m thinking I might be able to do a sliding pricing scale based on how many packs there are (and further how much time I’m saving people).

  6. Alice Says:

    I totally agree about the price thing. I was so ready to pick this up a week ago and then I saw the price. Eek! I really want one, but 10k just isn’t practical for me right now. So far, my largest vendors are about 13-18 prims of products, just for the record. I think that would probably on the high end of the scale, lol. I mostly do hair, and I love having tons and tons of colors, so of course there’s tons of packs with that. I’d say around 8 or less for other things I’m planning on in the future. Hope this helps a bit.

    Anyway, hope to see a cheaper variation in the future. And a demo would be great too!

  7. srslysl Says:

    As requested, I’ve put up a demo as well as three different versions/prices…

    You can now get a packager HUD that will package up to 10 variations/packs/styles for L$5k, a 20 pack version for L$7,500 and the original all you can pack version for the same L$10k.

    Hopefully this makes it a little more accessible for those with a smaller product line 🙂

    As always, keep sending me your feedback!

Leave a Reply

